Monday, July 28, 2008

Josh McDermott selected to receive U of M Outstanding Postdoc Scholar Award

Dear Colleagues,

I am pleased to tell you that Josh McDermott has been selected to receive the University of Minnesota Outstanding Postdoctoral Scholar Award for 2008-09.  The Award recognizes postdoctoral scholars who have made outstanding contributions to research, scholarship and/or creative activities on a national or international level and acknowledges scholars who have made optimal use of the postdoctoral appointment by actively pursuing opportunities and resources to enhance their intellectual and professional development.

Josh has been working on auditory perception with Andrew Oxenham and lab colleagues. He has been studying mid-level audition, including source separation, texture perception, and the psychoacoustic basis of music.

Congratulations to Josh!

This award to Josh is a timely reminder of the excellence of postdocs in the Psychology department and the critical roles they play in many of our research programs.



Tuesday, July 8, 2008

Mark Snyder wins 2008 Kurt Lewin Memorial Award

The winner of SPSSI's (The Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues) Applied Social Issues Internship Award for the 2008 competition is Mark Snyder.

The Kurt Lewin Memorial Award is presented annually to honor "outstanding contributions to the development and integration of psychological research and social action."  As this year's recipient of the award, Dr. Snyder has accomplished these goals in every way.

The 2008 Award Committee consisted of Dr. Brenda Major, University of California, Santa Barbara (Chair); Dr. Daphne Bugental, University of California, Santa Barbara; Dr. Jack Dovidio, Yale University; and Dr. Louis Penner, Hudson-Webber Cancer Research Center.

Thursday, July 3, 2008

Professor Rich Lee Honored

Congratulations go to Professor Rich Lee who was elected as a Fellow of the Asian American Psychological Association (AAPA) this year. Additionally, he was selected to receive the Okura Community Leadership Award which is given to an individual who ‚├ä├║demonstrates outstanding community service and/or leadership that benefits the Asian American community.

This is great recognition for Rich's contributions.



Professor Rich Lee received K. Patrick Okura Award

The Asian American Studies Department is pleased to announce that Department of Psychology professor Rich Lee has received the Asian American Psychological Association's prestigious K. Patrick Okura Award for community service and leadership.